Skip to main navigation.

Board of Directors

District 7 Vacancy

Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative is seeking applications from co-op members in District 7 to fill a recent vacancy on its board of directors.  District 7 includes the Towns of Webb Lake, Chicog, Jackson, Scott, Casey and Rusk.  Once applications are reviewed, a director will be appointed to complete a three-year term (through June 2021) on the co-op board.

Director Qualifications:
Co-op directors must be a year-round resident of District 7 and must purchase electricity from Polk-Burnett at that permanent residence.

Director Responsibilities:

  • Directors make annual budget decisions, and set rates, policies and system improvement prorities to ensure the delivery of reliable power, according to the electric cooperative's mission and values.
  • Directors attend monthly boad meetings that last four to six hours during business hours, usually the fourth Monday beginning at 8 a.m.
  • Directors attend industry meetings and educational seminars, about five to 10 days per year.
  • Directors do not receive a salary or benefits; they receive a per diem, plus actual expenses.

If you are intereseted, please complete the application and submit it to the cooperative by August 24, 2018.

District 7 Director Application
Information for the Director Candidate

Three incumbent directors running unopposed for board election in co-op districts, 7, 8 and 9; ballots in the mail April 30, 2018

Polk-Burnett Board of Directors
As a cooperative, Polk-Burnett is owned and democratically controlled by its members and governed by a board of directors elected from the membership. The directors represent the best interests of all members when making policy decisions for the co-op. Board responsibilities include annual budgeting and purchasing decisions, system improvements, rate studies and rights-of-way procedures. Polk-Burnett has nine directors, representing nine districts, who serve three-year terms and attend monthly meetings. Director terms expire in June and an election is held each May via mail ballot for eligible voters in three districts. 

If you have a question or concern, please email the general manager.

Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative Board of Directors

Edward O. Gullickson, President (District 3)
Director since 2008
Lives in:  Amery
Occupation:  Electrical engineering and contracting, custom wood door manufacturing
Community:  Chairman, Town of Garfield
Education:  UW-Stout
Co-op Membership:  Home and business
Michael X. Morris, Vice President (District 2)
Director since 2008
Lives in:  Luck
Occupation:  Math teacher and coach, Unity School District, retired
Community:  Chairman of the financial council, Our Lady of the Lakes Catholic Church, Balsam Lake
Education:  UW-River Falls
Co-op Membership:  Home and cabin
Charles A. Brookshaw, Secretary/Treasurer (District 8)
Director from 1999-2007, 2012
Lives in:  Webster
Occupation:  General contractor, residential construction and remodeling

Community:  Devils Lake Association Board
Education: UW-Eau Claire
Co-op Membership:  Home, business and cabin
Cynthia A. Thorman (District 1)
Director since 2005

Lives in:  Osceola
Occupation:  Accounting and journalism, KARE-11 TV, current Delta flight attendant
Community:  Osceola Historical Society, Osceola Main Street Program
Education:  Northwestern College, UW-River Falls
Co-op Membership:  Home
Joseph P. Metro (District 4)
Director since 2016
Lives in:  Balsam Lake
Occupation:  Retired director of facilities management and construction
Community:  Former Mid American Bank advisory board and Citizen Advisory Board on Three Mile Island electrical generation facility in Pensylvania
Education:  US Naval Academy, Bloomburg University
Co-op Membership:  Home

Jeffrey R. Traynor (District 5)
Director since 2015
Lives In:  Balsam Lake
Occupation:  Business owner
Community:  President, Balsam Lake Rod and Gun Club
Education:  Baldwin High School
Co-op Membership:  Home and businesses

Wilfred Owens (District 6)
Director since 2016
Lives in:  Frederic
Occupation:  Owner/operator of Owens Farms, Inc.
Community:  American Jersey Cattle Association, Wisconsin Jersey Breeders, County 4-H Leaders Federation
Education:  UW-River Falls
Co-op Membership:  Home and business
Maury Miller (District 7)
Director since 2015
Lives in:  Danbury
Occupation:  Retired senior vice president, CHS (Cenex) and Land O'Lakes cooperatives
Community:  Burnett County Board of Supervisors, retired
Education:  Gustavus Adlophus College
Co-op Membership:  Lake home
Thomas E. Swenson (District 9)
Director since 2006
Lives in:  Webster
Occupation:  Surveyor and owner of Swenson Land Surveying
Community:  Former board director for Diversified Services
Education:  University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Co-op Membership:  Home and business
Touchstone Energy Cooperatives National Logo Kids Energy Zone Logo Diggers Hotline Logo