As a cooperative, Polk-Burnett is owned and governed by the members we serve. Directors are local members, just like you, and represent the best interests of all when making decisions for the co-op.

Three directors are unopposed in 2024 spring election, ballots mail May 1

Ed Gullickson, Board President

Board responsibilities include approving the annual budget and system improvements, setting rates and hiring the general manager. Polk-Burnett has nine directors, representing nine districts. They serve three-year terms and attend monthly meetings, generally the fourth Monday of each month. Director terms expire in June and an election is held each May by mail and electronic ballot in three districts. Directors are elected by the members. 

Three co-op board directors are unopposed in 2024 spring election, ballots mail May 1



Edward O. Gullickson, President (District 3)
Director since 2008

Lives in:  Amery
Occupation:  Electrical engineering and contracting, custom wood door manufacturing
Community:  Chairman, Town of Garfield
Education:  UW-Stout
Co-op Membership:  Home and business

Read more

Cynthia A. Thorman (District 1)
Director since 2005

Lives in:  Osceola
Occupation:  Accounting and journalism, KARE-11 TV, former Delta flight attendant
Community:  Osceola Historical Society, Osceola Main Street Program
Education:  Northwestern College, UW-River Falls
Co-op Membership:  Home

Read more

Wilfred Owens (District 6)
Director since 2016

Lives in:  Frederic
Occupation:  Owner/operator of Owens Farms, Inc.
Community:  American Jersey Cattle Association, Wisconsin Jersey Breeders, County 4-H Leaders Federation
Education:  UW-River Falls
Co-op Membership:  Home and business

Read more

Michael X. Morris, Vice President (District 2)
Director since 2008

Lives in:  Luck
Occupation:  Math teacher and coach, Unity School, retired
Community:  Finance chairman, Our Lady of the Lakes Catholic Church, Balsam Lake
Education:  UW-River Falls
Co-op Membership:  Home 

Read more

Joseph P. Metro
(District 4)
Director since 2016

Lives in:  Balsam Lake
Occupation:  Retired facilities management/ construction director
Community:  Former Mid American Bank advisory board, citizen advisory board Three Mile Island electrical generation facility
Education:  US Navy, Bloomburg University
Co-op Membership:  Home

Read more

Jerry Okonek (District 7)
Director since 2018

Lives in:  Spooner
Occupation:  Owner, OK Construction
Community:  Advisor Tiger Manufacturing-Webster School, advisory board of WITC's wood tech program, Scott Fire Department (retired fire chief)
Education: WITC-Rice Lake
Co-op Membership:  Home and business

Charles A. Brookshaw, Secretary/Treasurer (District 8)
Director from 1999-2007, 2012

Lives in:  Webster
Occupation:  General contractor, residential construction and remodeling
Community:  Devils Lake Association Board
Education: UW-Eau Claire
Co-op Membership:  Home, business and cabin

John Ukura
(District 5)
Director since 2022


Lives In:  Luck
Occupation:  Electrical engineer, retired
Community:  Treasurer Luck Lions, Luck Snowmobile & ATV club, Bone Lake Management District volunteer
Education:  University of Minnesota
Co-op Membership:  Home 

Read more

Thomas E. Swenson (District 9)
Director since 2006

Lives in:  Webster
Occupation:  Retired surveyor and owner of Swenson Land Surveying
Community:  Former board director for Diversified Services
Education:  University of Alaska, Fairbanks
Co-op Membership:  Home