All News

Co-op taking applications for 2024 board election

Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative holds elections each spring for co-op board directors. This year, board positions in co-op districts 7, 8 and 9 will be on the ballot. Members residing in those districts have an opportunity to get involved in co-op decision making by running for a seat on the board. Applications for the 2024 board election are now being accepted from co-op members in districts 7, 8 and 9. The deadline to apply is March 15.

District 7 includes Webb Lake, Scott, Jackson, Chicog, Casey and Rusk townships. The incumbent director is Jerry Okonek of Spooner.

District 8 includes Swiss, Oakland, Union, Meenon and Sand Lake townships. The incumbent director is Chuck Brookshaw of Webster.

District 9 includes Marshland, Lincoln, Grantsburg, Wood River, Daniels, Siren, Anderson and Trade Lake townships. The incumbent director is Tom Swenson of Webster.

As a cooperative, Polk-Burnett is owned by its members and governed by a board of directors elected from its membership. Board directors serve a three-year term and attend monthly meetings to guide policy and budget decisions for Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative.

All co-op members in districts 7, 8 and 9 will have the opportunity to vote in the 2024 Polk-Burnett board election. Ballots will be mailed May 1, and members can vote by mail or online. Election results will be announced at the co-op’s 86th annual meeting June 14.

“Members of Polk-Burnett have the opportunity to make their voices heard and represent their neighbors by taking an active role in cooperative governance,” said Steve Stroshane, general manager. “Democratic member participation is one of the great advantages of a cooperative. I encourage you to consider serving on the co-op board.”

Co-op members interested in running for a board position in districts 7, 8 and 9 may contact the general manager’s office at Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative, 800-421-0283, ext. 313, for an application packet.

Learn more about Polk-Burnett’s board of directors and see a map of co-op districts.